jump to navigation

A whiff of wine November 24, 2012

Posted by Jeena in Food.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

It looks like the printer at work is possessed – among other problems including paper jams. It seemes to think that the user wants about 6 copies of everything he/she prints. That’s how 6 copies of a colleague’s compilation of home-made wine recipes were churned out and I got one copy. Funny, how she hasn’t made a start on it. 😛

Last Saturday, I bottled about 4 litres of beetroot wine. I’ve got another week to go before it’s ready though. Today, I was checking up on the bottles stored in a ‘cool, dark’ place. The daily help saw me moving the storage bins of atta and rice. She asked me what’s the smell and I tried explaining. Apparently, every morning she comes in, she gets this smell. So she attempts to follow the smell and hunts in unlikely places for any ‘bottles’ we may have forgotten. She’s quite happy to find out that there isn’t anything decaying under her nose 😀

Funny how we don’t get any smells. Hmmmm

The ginger is chopped and ready for some home-made ginger wine. I just need to get either the citric acid crystals or some juice & zest of lime. Do I need to boil the ginger for 5 mins or 20 mins or 1 hour? Everyone’s got a different opinion on the ‘world wide web’ (Transformers style). When I diligently followed the beetroot wine recipe, they lied about the prep & cooking time. It took about 3 – 4 hours! 2 litres of water gave me 4 litres because I squeezed the pulp after boiling for 20 mins. 😦

Comments»

1. Gita Madhu - November 30, 2012

The daily maid thing is a familiar pitfall in wine making 😀 I don’t take any help from mine in preparing and have to be terribly crafty -there are a good many easy wine recipes on line (Indian recipes)-I’ve gone from beetroot (a staple!) to pumpkin and even guava. All good. Am now planning to try culturing the yeast off a good bought bottle of wine to see how wine yeast affects the taste-will have to find a culture medium or twist a science student’s arm to get some agar


Leave a Reply

