jump to navigation

Installed, loving it February 9, 2013

Posted by Jeena in Behaviors, People.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

The two months leading up to moving to our new home was hectic, and confusion reigned. A few new appliances needed ordering, the materials required for the interiors purchased. Couple of old furniture were moved to the new home for refurbishing, touching up. As we started packing up, boxes began piling up in the hall. I wonder, if we had fewer books (fiction & non-fiction), would there have been so many boxes?

We met all kinds of people from the sophisticated to the unblemished & naïve characters. Interacting with them increased our conversational skills in the local language. I trashed Hindi with no misgivings – my directions on the phone to the drivers delivering things we’d ordered would have made the North Indians wince (by the way, what’s hindi for banyan tree?).

It became a routine asking for a discount. Curtains, lights, furniture, painters, cleaners, packers ‘n’ movers. “What’s the best price you can give?” Of course, there were some places that we should have had better deals.

 My leadership skills were tested when DH had to step out on moving day. A shouting match broke out between two men. If DH had been there, it wouldn’t have happened. As it is, I had to get rid of the ‘meek, malleable’ woman image and become someone I didn’t recognize. It took a couple of minutes but they called it quits before getting to fisticuffs. 

I had an allergy tab and put on a mask. The dust rising would have made me a sneezing spectacle otherwise. I never realized that I had so much utensils in the kitchen. After a while, I stopped bothering which crate & carton contained what. It’s been 2 weeks and I’ve just found out what became of my apron.

One mistake I made was not taking time off after moving in. Perhaps, it would have been easier instead of battering my constitution with the longer journey to work and back, then organizing everything at home.

At the end of the day, despite everything, coming home to the unpolluted and quiet home is worth everything.

Comments»

1. Shareen - February 9, 2013

I totally agree. And good for you for standing your ground!


Leave a Reply

